Libris

We craft the book, You create the story...

2017 Bookbinding Workshop SERIES

Learn the ancient craft of bookbinding in a one day, hands-on workshop in the heart of Bendigo’ s Arts Precinct.

Under the guidance of an experienced bookbinder learn the skills required to create a traditional hand sewn, hard cover binding or a book housing using a range of materials and tools of the trade.

 

Beginner's Workshop

Beginner's Workshop

Take home kit

Take home kit


beginner's bookbinding workshop

WORKSHOP COST: $300                            

WORKSHOP DATES:  

  • Saturday 4th March
  • Saturday 29th April
  • Saturday 27th May
  • Saturday 29th July
  • Saturday 23rd September

Learn the basics of bookbinding including creating sections and hand sewing the book block.  During the session you will make a quarter cloth bound hard covered journal with decorative paper sides.

 


INTRODUCTION TO LEATHER BINDING

WORKSHOP COST: $300

WORKSHOP DATES:

  • Sunday 5th March
  • Sunday 28th May
  • Sunday 24th September

Further develop your binding skills and create a quarter leather binding.  In this workshop you will learn how to prepare leather for binding,  create classic raised bands on the spine and try your hand at some decorative tooling.  Some previous binding experience, or participation in our Beginner's Workshop would be beneficial.  

 


box making workshop

Our box-making workshop is an ideal extension to our Beginner's workshop.  Learn to create a custom made housing for your hard covered journal.

WORKSHOP COST: $300

WORKSHOP DATES: 

  • Sunday 30th April
  • Sun 30th July

booking details

All workshops include:

  • One full day tuition from 9.30am until approx. 3pm
  • All materials
  • Take home Bookbinding Kit comprising simple binders tools and manual
  •  Lunch, Tea & Coffee
  • Small group (Max 6 people)
  • Use of traditional binding equipment  

Phone us on (03) 5444 5933  use the link beow